SDSA logo Consists of: And, is run by an Executive Committee (which includes an Executive Director who is paid a 10 hour/week salary), a Board of Directors, and an Honorary Advisory Board.

Mission Statement

The San Diego Science Alliance (SDSA) is a non-profit consortium of businesses, institutions of research and higher education, and other organizations committed to fostering K-12 science literacy and education in San Diego County.  Funded primarily by local industry, SDSA provides tools and networking opportunities to connect teachers with resources that are available to enrich science education. SDSA also works with local science educators to identify areas of need and to develop new programs for San Diego students and teachers.

Sustaining Members


Supporting Members

Cubic Corporation
Pacific Bell
Solar Turbines
Titan Corporation

Foundation Grants

Girard Foundation
Hewlett Packard Foundation
McCarthy Foundation
Oracle Foundation
SDG&E Foundation
TRW Foundation

Executive Committee

Executive Director Patricia Winter General Atomics Sciences Education Foundation
President Jan Sutton Solar Turbines
Vice President Ellie Glaser QUALCOMM Incorporated
Secretary Joy Wolf SeaWorld San Diego
Treasurer Gary Devan Mission Federal Credit Union
Communications Chair
Mission & Vision Chair Gwen Rosenberg Alliance Pharmaceutical Corp.
Nominations Chair Thomas A. Dillon, Ph.D SAIC
High Tech Chair Barbara Abelin Cubic Corporation
Education Liaison Nancy Taylor SDCOE

Board of Directors

Name Affiliation
Barbara Abelin Cubic Corporation
Rick Beach, Ph.D. Xerox
Lisa Briggs Pacific Bell
Dinah Brown Oceanside Unified School District
Janet Delaney San Diego City Schools
Walt Desmond, Ph.D. Lincoln High School
Arlene de Strulle Birch Aquarium, Scripps Insitution of Oceanography/UCSD
Gary Devan Mission Federal Credit Union
Thomas A. Dillon, Ph.D. SAIC
Ellie Glaser QUALCOMM Incorporated
George Hellman Hughes Network Systems
Kendra Jeffcoat, Ph.D. Palomar College
Lynne Kennedy Reuben H. Fleet Science Center
Janelle Kline TRW Avionics Systems Div.
Dave Massey Chet Harritt School
Percy Myers Marconi Integrated Systems, Inc.
JoAnne Newton SPAWAR Sytems Center San Diego
John Noneman Nokia Mobile Phones
Walter Oechel, Ph.D. San Diego State University
Steve Rodecker San Diego Science Educators Assn.
Gwen Rosenberg Alliance Pharmaceutical Corp.
Tina Sardina Rolando School, La Mesa Spring Valley School District
Roger Scott, Ph.D. Info/Tech Development
Sara Steinhoffer UCSD
Nancy Stubbs Girl Power, Sweetwater Union School District
Jan Sutton Solar Turbines
Todd Talashek, Ph.D. Monsanto Kelco Biopolymers
Nancy Taylor San Diego County Office of Education
Patrica Winter General Atomics
Joy Wolf SeaWorld San Diego

Honorary Advisory Board

Name Affiliation
Alan Bersin
San Diego City Schools
J. Robert Beyster, Ph.D.
Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer
Neal Blue
General Atomics
Rudy Castruita, Ph.D.
Superintendent of Schools
San Diego County Office of Education
Robert C. Dynes, Ph.D.
University of California at San Diego
Glen Harvey, Ph.D.
CEO WestEd
Dr. Alice Hays

University of San Diego
Irwin Jacobs, Ph.D.
Chairman and CEO
QUALCOMM Incorporated
Jeffrey Kirsch, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Reuben H. Fleet
Space Theatre and Science Center
Thomas Pollard, Ph.D.
Salk Institute for Biological Studies
Duane Roth
Stephen Weber, Ph.D.
San Diego State University
Julie Meier Wright
San Diego Economic Development Corp.


Copyright © 1996-1998, San Diego Science Alliance , All Rights Reserved
04/01/99 ern